Skip to content

2011 Apple Tree Update

September 7, 2011

Just over a year ago, I was bemoaning the lack of growth in all my apple trees. To recap, the last few weeks of the 2010 growing season did see some movement in my apple trees but, overall, 2010 was another static year for my fledging orchard. The only exceptions being the two ‘Behan’ pears, acquired from Irish Seedsavers, on highly vigorous PC (Pyrus communis*) root stocks.

Irish Times - 14th July 2011

Irish Times - 14th July 2011

Thankfully, 2011 has been quite different to 2010. Firstly, we had the warmest April on record [for this part of Ireland]. Also in April, I went out of my way to both fertilize and then mulch, every tree I have. I used a natural high nitrogen fertilizer (well diluted urine!) combined with copious grass clippings as a mulch, in a 2ft radius around the trunk of each and every tree. This meant that the majority of my trees, particularly the apples and pears, got off to a flier.

Then came May, a month of near-constant, salt-laden, high winds. The initial growth of many of my plants, indeed everyone’s plants, trees included, got bad wind/salt burn (see the article from the Irish Times, see right). This set all trees back some, but thankfully June, July and August were mild – if a little dry. However, I took care to water regularly when rain was scarce.

As a result, all my trees apple trees have put on between one and two feet of growth this year (their 4th year in the ground here); likewise my two pears (only their 2nd year); my damsons and plums even more (after a hard pruning at the end of last winter). Not only that, but all the trees have bushed out considerably too.

This winter, the apples and pears will require at least a little pruning (to remove in growing and crossing branches, mainly). Every apple tree is at least 6ft – some as high as 10ft, and if 2012 sees the current rate of growth continue, I’d be hopeful of seeing my first apples in 2013 – which will mark the fifth anniversary of their planting.

 

*Edit – here’s what the old Irish Seed Savers website had to say about their PC rootstocks: 

Pyrus Communis (PC) is a very vigorous rootstock, more suitable for half-standard and standard trees.  Growing up to 12 metres (40 ft) in maturity in good soil conditions, pear trees on Pyrus Communis should be planted 5 metres (17 to 18 ft) apart.  This rootstock displays good anchorage.

No comments yet

Leave a comment